Maverick Servers and Gaming
http://maverickservers.com/forums/

Klaustrophobia by Smiker
http://maverickservers.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=22659
Page 2 of 4

Author:  smiker [ Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Week 11
Attachment:
untitled.JPG
untitled.JPG [ 348.17 KiB | Viewed 18466 times ]


oops i did the texture but forgot to make the snapshot ant upload the pic!

Week12
Attachment:
untitled2.JPG
untitled2.JPG [ 330.22 KiB | Viewed 18466 times ]

Author:  smiker [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 12:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Donwload PK3: ftp://barcelonaexpress-va.x64.me/smktourney1.pk3

I must remark this is a a cpma map.

Release notes
·No hinting / optimizations done
·Some models have bad UVs
·Some areas haven't player shadows.
·Second Rocket launcher drops to floor
·Some areas are lacking ammo / objects
·I feel there aren't enough player spawns
·No soundscapes / ambient sound

These are not BUGS. I simply hadn't any time to do it better. Next time, more experience will help to get better place on the compo!
Good luck everyone! This was very instructive and exciting!

Author:  kaustic [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

When I tried to launch your map my game crashed with this message
Z_Free: memory block wrote past end. Also your map doesn't show up
in the skirmish menu. You probably have "single" as a game type in the
arena file.

Author:  smiker [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Dammit i forgot to include an arena file too! >_<
Moved download to our corporate ftp server

ftp://barcelonaexpress-va.x64.me/smktourney1.pk3

Author:  smiker [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

@Kaustic: I assume the same installation not working with smktourney1 does with any other maps, am I right? I haven't any idea what's causing that crash, it's running ok on my computers :S

Author:  kaustic [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

I have 3 different installs of q3a. 1 for mapping, 1 for testing maps and 1 for playing the game.
I had the same thing happen with all 3 installs. I'm downloading your updated file to see if it
will work.

Author:  kaustic [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Same thing as in my first post. Check your arena file ,make sure you remove single from the
type line. It still crashes my games. I was reading somewhere that it could be caused by a
shader ,so check all of them. Make sure there are no 8 bit textures or grey scale(must be rgb).

Author:  smiker [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Ok, revising shader file, removing all unnecesary stuff and reuploading the file, wait for announcement to redownload, please, i'm just compiling te new version. Will upload final entry later ten ;) Thanks Kaustic, thank you very much!

Author:  smiker [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Reuploaded, final version, same link. This time with locations, more items, and hopefully working to on your system kaustic.

Author:  kaustic [ Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Ok this is whats up. One or more of your shaders are bad. I removed the shader file and
repacked your map and it starts up fine it just doesn't look as intended and has some missing
textures. Not a good time to be trying to figure out which one it is.

Author:  smiker [ Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

>_< Screwed up. No idea what's causing that error! -.- The only notice i have is a continuosly repeating message FATAL: Item drops on red characters, when loading it on normal quake 3, Tried to load using CNQ3 + cpma directly, and that's loading flawlessly. Wonder which is the problematic shader :S

Author:  smiker [ Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

I've just discovered negative lighting.
I'm stunned. A wide brand new world has just been revealed to me.

Author:  ShaZe [ Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

smiker wrote:
I've just discovered negative lighting.
I'm stunned. A wide brand new world has just been revealed to me.


Certainly not as impressive as discovering negative edge on street fighter! :mrgreen:

Author:  smiker [ Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Double Stun then!! Didn't notice that on sf2, so two surprises for the price of one!

Author:  smiker [ Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Klaustrophobia by Smiker

Due to some people are having trouble loading my map (still dunno why)
And since I actually can load the judged map flawlessly (against that fatal:out of levels error that I fixed on latest version of the map), I am posting the method, easy to follow, to be able to play (and judge :evil: ) smktourney1.


1 · First of all, download http://planetquake.gamespy.com/fms/Download.php?id=9097, it is the magic software which will download a fresh copy of all quake 3 files, except illegal ones (pak0.pk3), including CPMA mod, maps and client.

2 · Open the downloaded installer. When opened, it will check for updates. Let it do that, and udate it. If opening first time fails and crashes dont panic, just try to open it again, with admin privileges.

3 · Once in the Updated Installer, Deselect all Options, Check only 1.32 release and all CPMA stuff. Configure folders in the left, first must point to pak0.pk3 located anywhere you have another copy of q3, second one must point where the fresh'n'clean copy of quake3 will be installed to. When those folders are setup, click download (install) and wait for the files to come.

4 · Download the map pack from maverick servers http://router.download.maverickservers.com/?file=/quake3/MaverickServers_Mapping_Competition_Judging_Summer_2013.zip

5 · Pick smktourney1.pk3 from the downloaded map pack and place it on the usual folder.

6 · Use CNQ3.exe and one inside write /map smktourney1

7 · It works for me, no need to extra tweaks, no bad client. If you are still having trouble trying to load the map, play it on WINDOWS XP, or at least try XP compatibility mode if you're on a higher OS.

I think the time I did dedicate working on that file deserves a bit more than four minutes trying to load it...It hurts when you see that happening, specially online, in a stream U_u.

Page 2 of 4 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/