View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:15 am



Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Testing Servers 
Author Message
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 231
Post Testing Servers
These are the test servers I've got up so far (I'll update them as more come online):

New York (BaseQ3): mapping.maverickservers.com:27960 (69.9.166.174:27960)
New York (CPMA): mapping.maverickservers.com:27961 (69.9.166.174:27961)
Germany (BaseQ3): germany.maverickservers.com:27960 (78.159.115.81:27960)
Germany (CPMA): germany.maverickservers.com:27961 (78.159.115.81:27961)
London (CPMA): 87.117.196.150:27960

Maps are all in the judging mappack:
http://download.maverickservers.com/qua ... udging.zip


Sun May 30, 2010 2:34 am
Profile

Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:27 pm
Posts: 82
Post Re: Testing Servers
It would be good to have also here links for current maps used on servers.


Sun May 30, 2010 8:22 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 231
Post Re: Testing Servers
To bump this a bit, the Germany test server was brought up today. If neither of these servers are good for your testing please let me know and I can look into getting a server up elsewhere.


Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:06 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 4:42 pm
Posts: 76
Post Re: Testing Servers
CPMA mod type? i cant get in.


Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:11 pm
Posts: 60
Post Re: Testing Servers
Yes, please setup default test servers. Not servers with mods, and garbage.


Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:44 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 231
Post Re: Testing Servers
Actually, I misspoke. The New York server wasn't setup for CPMA, only Germany was due to request. I'll go ahead and reset Germany to baseq3.


Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:54 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:49 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Somewhere near Berlin
Post Re: Testing Servers
OH NOES, WHY :(

_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:55 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 2:03 pm
Posts: 68
Post Re: Testing Servers
Neeed CPMA-Server PLS!!!!

REALLY NEEEED!

Peace


Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:17 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:11 pm
Posts: 60
Post Re: Testing Servers
I think it's pretty obvious why. Because it causes problems for the normal people that don't have CPMA and other crap installed.

The texture base would also be misleading.

If a map is tested under a mod, then it's not really being tested. You need to consider the outside world of players that don't have that mod.

True testing would be testing on a fresh server, with no addons, no extra .pk3's, no extra textures, or any customizations whatsoever.

If your map is for a mod, then that's something you need deal with. If the competition is allowing non-standard(maps that use 3rd-party mods) submissions, then it's the competition host's responsibility to provide another server (specific to that mod) for testing. There would be two servers: one for regular, and one for cpma.


Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:49 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Somewhere near Berlin
Post Re: Testing Servers
The competition allows maps made for CPM.
You are speaking of normal people who don't have mods like CPMA/OSP installed. Nobody plays VQ3 - the CPM and the CQ3 community are bigger than the VQ3 community. :mrgreen:
Though, I agree on using materials from a MOD isn't a good idea since it makes the map unplayable or less playable in BaseQ3.

We already discussed on irc that CPMA is not gonna be removed but CPM isn't gonna be enabled by default. This way everybody plays CQ3 which basically is tweaked VQ3.

Night all :)

_________________
Portfolio
Twitter


Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:41 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 4:49 am
Posts: 32
Post Re: Testing Servers
I play VQ3 8)

I used to be an instagib rails only guy but I can never find any servers online anymore other than the Quake Live instagib servers.... but.... they're not ranked :P


Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:02 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 231
Post Re: Testing Servers
I'll see if I can put up some baseq3-only and cpma-only servers so everyone is cool. Shouldn't be a big issue.


Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:53 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 4:42 pm
Posts: 76
Post Re: Testing Servers
tanks im vq3 also


Sat Jun 05, 2010 12:05 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 231
Post Re: Testing Servers
Ok, server list updated. Port 27960 is for baseq3 and 27961 is for cpma. Choose your flavor.


Sat Jun 05, 2010 1:14 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:28 pm
Posts: 7
Post Re: Testing Servers
I know the issue is fixed now but testing maps on non-mod servers doesn't make sense.. If finished maps aren't playable on mod supported servers then why create maps at all? For prize only? I reckon that only 3 people in this world prefer baseq3 over any mod. Also cpma supports vq3, cq3, cpm, pmc physics so whats the problem?

I wonder why people think cpma is so hard to get.... http://promode.ru/files/z-cpma-pak148.pk3


Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:58 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.